Is using a VPN safe for main account?

kallekalas

I play on a server and I want to make a second account to bot with. But I dont want my main account to get banned. Is using a reliable VPN safe? Any suggestions on such a VPN?

Edit. I am a noob when it comes to botting and VPN in general.

Usually yes, that is a safe method to keep your main account.

Some private servers (or at least one) was able to check for hardwarespecific stuff, at least thats what we expect it to be.

To be ultra safe you would bot the bots from a completely different machine, best case scenario even a different router/public ip.

VPNs purpose is to hide your IP address right? Can anyone explain how they are able to see your IP address in the first place? 

I was under the impression that only the ISP can see your full address and without cooperation from the ISP,  no one can see your IP address.

2 hours ago, Macro said:

VPNs purpose is to hide your IP address right? Can anyone explain how they are able to see your IP address in the first place? 

I was under the impression that only the ISP can see your full address and without cooperation from the ISP,  no one can see your IP address.

Sorry that is completely wrong. Droidz could even tell you right now what your IP is.
Not sure if you are trolling though.
https://www.myip.com/

8 hours ago, kallekalas said:

So if I buy a VPN, I run it, and then I can use my bot account? And then when im done, I disable VPN and log on to my main account?

Sounds like a good workflow i guess.

8 hours ago, Macro said:

Partially wrong. Partially right. Yes only the ISP can connect the IP to an actual street adress. It is possible to roughly locate you using your public IP we are talking city scale here, not street. A big NO to your last sentence. Your IP is your footprint in the web. You leave it everywhere. A VPN hides your real ISP IP and instead just simulates a footprint thats not yours.

Edited by Bambo

12 hours ago, Bambo said: